FARE - Food Allergy Research & Education Logo

2023 Courage at Congress Recap and Resources

This year’s event was back in person and featured engaging panels and advocacy training sessions to prepare advocates for their meetings with policymakers.


From March 26 to March 28, 200 FARE advocates and staff met in Washington, D.C. for our annual “Courage at Congress: Advocate for a Cure” legislative fly-in. On Monday, March 27, advocates heard from Rep. Dean Phillips (D-MN-03), FDA’s Dr. Susan Mayne, NIAID’s Dr. Alkis Togias, and CFAAR’s Dr. Ruchi Gupta. The next day, our advocates and staff conducted more than 125 House and Senate meetings featuring 30+ different members of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives.

Rep Dean Phillips

Rep. Dean Phillips (D-MN-03), the author of the ADINA Act, that will label medicine for the top-nine allergens and gluten, with Chase Spano. Rep. Phillips is a member of the Congressional Food Allergy Research Caucus.

Rep Mike Flood

Matthew, Kale in the chair, and Emily Wietfeld with Rep. Mike Flood (R-NE-01)

Jim Himes

Connecticut advocates and Rep. Jim Himes (D-CT-04), a member of the Congressional Food Allergy Research Caucus

Rep Hal Rogers

Zoe Slaughter, Rep. Hal Rogers (R-KY-05), and Kathryn Piller. Chairman Rogers is a member of the powerful Appropriations Committee and is the longest serving member of the U.S. House.

Rep Jeff Jackson

Rachel Britton, Rep. Jeff Jackson (D-NC-14), Pati Britton, Lindsey Lopez, and FARE’s VP of Health Equity and Community Engagement, Anita Roach.

Rep Mike Lawler

Amy Weber, Jane Weber, Jared Saiontz, Rep. Mike Lawler (R-NY-17), Chase Spano, Stacey Saiontz, Debbie Spano.

Looking to view and download photos from the event? (download pin: 8662)

We use cookies to deliver the best possible experience on our website. To learn more, visit our Privacy Policy. By continuing to use this site, or closing this box, you consent to our use of cookies.